History

PostFinance's history stretches back over a century. In this time, we grew from a post and girocheque service to a fully-fledged retail financial institution.

1900

The first "post and girocheque service"

Private and cantonal banks were no longer able to provide enough cash to meet the needs of the Swiss economy. To remedy this problem, the National Council of Basel and Colonel Carl Koechlin along with five co-signees submitted a motion. This was the cornerstone for the introduction of a "post and girocheque service".

1906

Introduction of payment transactions

For the effective performance of payment transactions, the dense Post Office network virtually imposed itself as the ideal solution. There were already about 3000 access points across Switzerland. Carl Koechlin opened the first Post cheque account at the Post cheque office in Basel.

1920

First international Post transfer agreement

The agreement is reached at the World Postal Congress in Madrid. At the same time, Swiss Post concludes postal order agreements with the biggest European countries.

1950

The end of interest on postal cheque credit balances

In the wake of the 1930s economic crisis, interest rates dropped to very low levels. At the end of 1949, the interest earned was only 0.2%, a meaningless amount for many account holders. Since it still involved work to calculate, the interest on postal cheque credit balances was discontinued.

1971

The first deposit slip

The introduction of the Deposit Form with Reference Number Procedure (VESR) was a Milestone achievement. It was to shape vouchered payment transactions in Switzerland up to the present day and anchored PostFinance's position in the market. Since 1996, this service has been called ISR.

1976

Withdrawal slip with reference number

In 1976, the Withdrawal Form with Reference Number Procedure (VASR) was introduced. For the first time, this allowed clients to make cash payments to people whose account number they did not know.

1978

Introduction of Postomats

The first Postomat were introduced even before banks had ATMs. Postomat Cards were introduced for cash withdrawals.

1988

Electronic payments become a reality

1988 saw the launch of Telegiro PTT. A precursor to Yellownet, this service enabled electronic payments via Videotex.

1991

The go-ahead to Postcard

Postcard followed on from the POSTOMAT PLUS Card and blue, guaranteed Postcheque. Launched in 1984, the blue, guaranteed Postcheque, allowed cash withdrawals from post offices in Europe and Japan. The POSTOMAT PLUS Card was put into service for the first time at Shoppyland Schönbühl in 1988. With its magnetic strip and chip, it hugely facilitated cashless payments.

1992

Launch of Postcard Eurocard

1992 launch the creation of the Postcard Eurocard credit card. Later it was marketed as Postcard VISA Card in cooperation with Cornèr Bank. Today these services are called PostFinance MasterCard and PostFinance VISA Card.

1992

The first financial service

Swiss Post launched its first financial service in the form of fixed-term federal deposits, which were subsequently given the name "yellow fixed-term deposits". Nowadays we refer to medium-term notes.

,

1997

"Postsoleil", the first funds.

The launch of the three yellow funds was done in collaboration with the Swiss Bank Corporation (today: UBS). Today PostFinance boasts seven of its own funds: Funds 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, as well as Fonds Global and Suisse. Since 2002, PostFinance has also offered a selection of mutual funds of other providers.

1998

Introduction of Yellownet

Yellownet marked the start of the e-finance era. This service saw PostFinance rise to the position of undisputed leader in Swiss e-banking. By 2009, e-finance surpassed the number of 1 million users.

1998

The first life insurance

"Yellow life insurance" was available from Swiss Post for the first time in association with Winterthur (today: AXA).

1998

Postal reform

The 1998 postal reform was designed to ensure and improve the provision of good, inexpensive post office and payment transaction services for the population and economy throughout Switzerland. For Swiss Post the reform involved changes at both market and company level.

Under the reform PostFinance had a legal obligation to achieve returns consistent with the market and to guarantee the security of assets. The abolition of the limit on interest provided the basis for a market standard for paying interest on customer deposits in postal and deposit accounts.

1999

Launch of the Deposito account

With the Deposito account, PostFinance brought to market a safe and flexible investment account. In 2000, it was followed by the e-Deposito account. And in 2003, the Deposito account for business customers was introduced.

2000

The first consulting centre

The first PostFinance consulting centres are opened in Lausanne, Basel and Zurich.

2001

Yellowtrade

With yellowtrade, today called e-trading, PostFinance enters the world of Internet-based securities trading.

2003

PostFinance turns into a retail financial institution

In 2003, together with UBS AG, PostFinance brought to market Yellow Mortgages and the Yellow Pension Account 3a. This marked PostFinance's mutation into a fully-fledged retail financial institution. Since 2008, PostFinance has also been offering additional mortgages in conjuction with the Münchener Hypothekenbank eG.

2005

Payment transactions for UBS

2005 saw PostFinance taking over UBS's "paper-based" payment transactions. This meant that the volume of vouchers increased by 30% overnight. At the same time, 21 employees came over to PostFinance from UBS. Today, PostFinance also ensures the payment transactions of the Cantonal Banks of Glarus, Tessin and Fribourg as well as Bank CIC (Switzerland).

2006

New centre in Zofingen

PostFinance was the first Swiss financial institution to use two entirely independent locations for its electronic systems. At a new datacentre in Zofingen, some 230 jobs were created to process some of PostFinance's vouchers. Most of the employees come from Berne and Lucerne. The relocation ensured a significant increase in the safety of our IT infrastructure.

2008

New free-movement account

With its vested benefits account, the Rendita Freizügigkeitsstiftung (vested benefits foundation) guarantees that your occupational pension provision is maintained in accordance with the Federal law on occupational pension provision (BVG) and the Federal law on vesting in pension plans (FzG).

2009

Cooperation with Valiant

2009 saw PostFinance and Valiant enter into a credit business agreement. The new offer benefited small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) throughout Switzerland.

2010

Free iPhone app

PostFinance was the first financial institution to offer a free application with a payment function for iPhones. It allows users to find the closest Post ATMs, PostFinance subsidiaries and post offices as well as the display of real-time stock exchange information. In 2011, the Android version followed and the well-known services grew to include by the most important e-finance services. With the function Scan+Pay, deposit forms can be scanned and payments made.

2011

FINMA supervision

2011 saw Swiss Post - and along with it PostFinance - receive Directly Supervised Financial Intermediary status (DSFI). As such PostFinance is subject to full supervision by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) in terms of the Anti-Money Laundering Act's provisions even before PostFinance's transformation into a public limited company.

2013

New headquarters in Berne

The 13-storey Mingerstrasse complex offers workspaces for 850 employees. At 55 metres high and with gross floor space of 15,000 m2, it is one of Berne’s tallest buildings.

2013

PostFinance Ltd

Since June 2013, PostFinance has been a public limited company under special law and a subsidiary of Swiss Post Ltd. PostFinance Ltd is regulated by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) and has been granted a licence in accordance with the Banking Act. The PostFinance Ltd Board of Directors is the highest committee of PostFinance Ltd.

2014

New e-finance

E-finance has a completely new design. Information is arranged in clear tiles, making navigation easier. Users can adapt e-finance to their needs quickly and easily.

2014

Strategic partnership with Swissquote

Swissquote and PostFinance are establishing a long-term strategic partnership in online trading. Swissquote will operate as a trading platform for PostFinance from autumn 2015, handling stock exchange orders placed by PostFinance customers in e-trading. According to the partnership agreement, PostFinance will also acquire a 5% equity investment in the capital of Swissquote.

1900

1906

1920

1950

1971

1976

1978

1988

1991

1992

1992

1997

1998

1998

1998

1999

2000

2001

2003

2005

2006

2008

2009

2010

2011

2013

2013

2014

2014

Histoire

PostFinance totalise plus d'un siècle d'histoire. Au fil du temps, le service des chèques et des virements postaux de La Poste Suisse est devenu un établissement financier grand public à part entière.

1900

Premier «service des chèques et des virements postaux»

Les banques privées et cantonales ne sont plus en mesure de fournir suffisamment d'espèces à l'économie suisse. C'est la raison pour laquelle le conseiller national et colonel bâlois Carl Koechlin dépose une motion avec cinq cosignataires. Il pose ainsi les fondements de la création d'un «service des chèques et des virements postaux».

1906

Naissance du trafic des paiements

Par sa densité, le réseau des offices de poste se prête idéalement au trafic des paiements. Il comprend déjà plus de 3000 points d'accès à l'échelle suisse. Carl Koechlin ouvre le premier compte de chèques postaux à l'office des chèques postaux de Bâle.

1920

Premier arrangement international concernant les virements postaux

La convention est signée dans le cadre du congrès postal universel à Madrid. Simultanément, la Poste conclut des contrats de mandats postaux avec les principaux pays européens.

1950

Fin de la rémunération des avoirs sur les comptes de chèques postaux

Du fait de la crise économique des années trente, le taux d'intérêt n’a cessé de reculer. A la fin de 1949, il est tombé à 0,2%, devenant ainsi négligeable pour de nombreux titulaires de compte. Son calcul générant une charge de travail considérable, il est renoncé à la rémunération des avoirs sur les comptes de chèques postaux.

1971

Premier bulletin de versement

Le système des bulletins de versement avec numéro de référence (SBVR) fait œuvre de pionnier et marque de son empreinte le trafic des paiements papier en Suisse. Renommé BVR en 1996, il renforce la position de PostFinance sur le marché.

1976

Bulletin de paiement avec numéro de référence

Lancement du système des bulletins de paiement avec numéro de référence (SBPR). Pour la première fois, il est possible de verser de l'argent liquide à des personnes dont le numéro de compte est inconnu.

1978

Introduction du Postomat

Les premiers Postomat entrent en service avant même l’apparition des premiers Bancomat. Lancement de la carte Postomat pour les retraits d’espèces au Postomat.

1988

Paiement électronique

Introduction du Télégiro PTT. Le prédécesseur de yellownet permet le paiement électronique par Videotex.

1991

Lancement de la Postcard

La Postcard est une évolution de la carte POSTOMAT PLUS et du Postcheque bleu garanti. Lancé en 1984, l'ancien Postcheque bleu garanti permet de retirer de espèces dans les offices de poste en Europe et au Japon. Inaugurée en 1988 dans le Shoppyland Schönbühl, l'excarte POSTOMAT PLUS simplifie considérablement le paiement sans argent liquide grâce à sa bande magnétique et à sa puce.

1992

Lancement de la Postcard Eurocard

Introduction de la carte de crédit Postcard Euro-card. Celle-ci devient ensuite la Postcard VISA Card, commercialisée en collaboration avec la Cornèr Bank. Aujourd'hui, les cartes de crédit sont distribuées sous le nom de PostFinance MasterCard et PostFinance VISA Card.

1992

Première offre de services financiers

Le dépôt à terme auprès de la Confédération représente le premier service financier proposé par La Poste Suisse. Plus tard, il prendra le nom de «Dépôt à terme Jaune». Aujourd'hui, on parle d'obligations de caisse.

,

1997

Premiers fonds «Postsoleil»

Les trois fonds jaunes sont lancés en collaboration avec la Société de Banque Suisse (aujourd'hui: UBS). Aujourd'hui, PostFinance propose sept fonds maison: les fonds 1 à 5, ainsi que les deux fonds Gobal et Suisse. Depuis 2002, PostFinance distribue aussi une sélection de fonds émis par des tiers.

1998

Lancement de yellownet

yellownet marque le début de l'ère e-finance. Ce service propulse PostFinance à la place de numéro un incontesté de «l'e-banking». En 2009, PostFinance passe le cap du premier million d'utilisateurs e-finance.

1998

Première assurance-vie

En collaboration avec Winterthur (aujourd'hui: AXA), la Poste propose pour la première fois les «Assurances-vie Jaunes».

1998

Réforme de la Poste

La réforme de la Poste de 1998 doit permettre d'assurer et d'améliorer la desserte de la population et de l'économie, en fournissant dans tout le pays des prestations relevant des services postaux et des services de paiement de qualité et à des prix équitables. Pour la Poste, la réforme concerne non seulement le marché mais également l'entreprise.

PostFinance est ainsi tenue de générer des recettes conformes au marché dans le cadre du placement des fonds de clients ainsi que de garantir leur sécurité. Par la suppression de la limite de rémunération, les fonds de clients déposés sur les comptes postaux et Deposito peuvent être désormais rémunérés aux conditions du marché.

1999

Lancement du compte Deposito

Avec le compte Deposito, PostFinance met sur le marché un compte de placement sûr et flexible. Elle enchaîne avec le compte e-Deposito en 2000. Le compte Deposito pour clients commerciaux suit en 2003.

2000

Premiers centres de conseils

Ouverture des premiers centres de conseils de PostFinance à Lausanne, Bâle et Zurich.

2001

yellowtrade

Avec yellowtrade, l'e-trading actuel, PostFinance entre dans le négoce de titres sur Internet.

2003

Etablissement financier grand public

En association avec UBS SA, PostFinance lance les Hypothèques Jaunes et le Compte Jaune Prévoyance 3a sur le marché. PostFinance devient ainsi un établissement financier grand public à part entière. Depuis l'été 2008, PostFinance propose des produits hypothécaires supplémentaires en collaboration avec la Münchener Hypothekenbank (MHB).

2005

Trafic des paiements pour UBS

PostFinance reprend pour UBS le traitement du trafic des paiements papier. La quantité de titres augmente subitement de 30 pour cent. Simulta-nément, 21 collaboratrices et collaborateurs passent d'UBS à PostFinance. Aujourd’hui, Post-Finance traite également le trafic des paiements des banques cantonales de Glaris, du Tessin et de Fribourg ainsi que celui de la Banque CIC (Suisse).

2006

Nouveau site de Zofingue

En tant que premier établissement financier de Suisse, PostFinance dispose de deux sites équipés de systèmes électroniques entièrement redondants. Le nouveau site de Zofingue regroupe 230 postes de travail au sein du centre informatique et traite une partie des titres. La majorité du personnel vient de Berne et de Lucerne. Le déménagement améliore de manière significative la sécurité de l’infrastructure informatique.

2008

Nouveau compte de libre passage

La Rendita Fondation de libre passage garantit le maintien de la prévoyance professionnelle au sens de la Loi fédérale sur la prévoyance professionnelle vieillesse, survivants et invalidité (LPP) et de la Loi sur le libre passage (LFLP).

2009

Coopération avec Valiant

PostFinance et Valiant concluent une coopération en matière de produits de crédit. Les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) dans toute la Suisse bénéficient de la nouvelle offre.

2010

Application iPhone gratuite

PostFinance est le premier établissement financier à offrir une application gratuite avec fonction de paiement pour l'iPhone. Celle-ci permet de localiser le prochain Postomat, les filiales PostFinance et les offices de poste ainsi que de consulter des informations boursières actualisées. La version Android suit en 2011 et les services proposés sont complétés par les principales prestations d'e-finance. La fonction Scan+Pay permet de scanner des bulletins de versement et d'exécuter le paiement.

2011

Surveillance par la FINMA

La Poste Suisse, et par conséquent PostFinance, disposent du statut «d'intermédiaire financier directement soumis à l'autorité de contrôle» (IFDS). De ce fait, PostFinance fait l'objet d'une surveillance usuelle dans la branche en ce qui concerne l'application des directives LBA avant même d'être transférée dans une société anonyme et intégralement placée sous l'autorité de la FINMA.

2013

Nouveau siège à Berne

L'immeuble de treize étages situé à la Mingerstrasse peut accueillir 850 collaborateurs. D'une hauteur de 55 mètres et d’une superficie brute par étage de 15 000 mètres carrés, il est l'un des plus grands de Berne.

2013

PostFinance SA

Depuis juin 2013, PostFinance est une société anonyme de droit privé et une société du groupe La Poste Suisse SA. PostFinance SA est soumise à l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) et dispose d'une autorisation d'exercer une activité bancaire. Le conseil d'administration de PostFinance SA est l'organe suprême de PostFinance SA.

2014

Nouvel e-finance

E-finance se présente dans un design entièrement remanié. La disposition claire des éléments dans différents volets permet de s'orienter plus facilement. Les utilisateurs et utilisatrices peuvent modifier leurs paramètres e-finance simplement et rapidement en fonction de leurs besoins.

2014

Collaboration stratégique avec Swissquote

Swissquote et PostFinance entament une collaboration stratégique à long terme pour le trading en ligne. A partir de l'automne 2015, Swissquote fera office de plateforme de trading pour PostFinance. Dans le cadre de cette fonction, Swissquote exécutera les ordres boursiers déposés par les clients de PostFinance dans e-trading. Cette coopération prévoit aussi que PostFinance participe à hauteur de 5% au capitalactions de Swissquote.

1900

1906

1920

1950

1971

1976

1978

1988

1991

1992

1992

1997

1998

1998

1998

1999

2000

2001

2003

2005

2006

2008

2009

2010

2011

2013

2013

2014

2014