History

PostFinance's history stretches back over a century. In this time, we grew from a post and girocheque service to a fully-fledged retail financial institution.

1900

The first "post and girocheque service"

Private and cantonal banks were no longer able to provide enough cash to meet the needs of the Swiss economy. To remedy this problem, the National Council of Basel and Colonel Carl Koechlin along with five co-signees submitted a motion. This was the cornerstone for the introduction of a "post and girocheque service".

1906

Introduction of payment transactions

For the effective performance of payment transactions, the dense Post Office network virtually imposed itself as the ideal solution. There were already about 3000 access points across Switzerland. Carl Koechlin opened the first Post cheque account at the Post cheque office in Basel.

1920

First international Post transfer agreement

The agreement is reached at the World Postal Congress in Madrid. At the same time, Swiss Post concludes postal order agreements with the biggest European countries.

1950

The end of interest on postal cheque credit balances

In the wake of the 1930s economic crisis, interest rates dropped to very low levels. At the end of 1949, the interest earned was only 0.2%, a meaningless amount for many account holders. Since it still involved work to calculate, the interest on postal cheque credit balances was discontinued.

1971

The first deposit slip

The introduction of the Deposit Form with Reference Number Procedure (VESR) was a Milestone achievement. It was to shape vouchered payment transactions in Switzerland up to the present day and anchored PostFinance's position in the market. Since 1996, this service has been called ISR.

1976

Withdrawal slip with reference number

In 1976, the Withdrawal Form with Reference Number Procedure (VASR) was introduced. For the first time, this allowed clients to make cash payments to people whose account number they did not know.

1978

Introduction of Postomats

The first Postomat were introduced even before banks had ATMs. Postomat Cards were introduced for cash withdrawals.

1988

Electronic payments become a reality

1988 saw the launch of Telegiro PTT. A precursor to Yellownet, this service enabled electronic payments via Videotex.

1991

The go-ahead to Postcard

Postcard followed on from the POSTOMAT PLUS Card and blue, guaranteed Postcheque. Launched in 1984, the blue, guaranteed Postcheque, allowed cash withdrawals from post offices in Europe and Japan. The POSTOMAT PLUS Card was put into service for the first time at Shoppyland Schönbühl in 1988. With its magnetic strip and chip, it hugely facilitated cashless payments.

1992

Launch of Postcard Eurocard

1992 launch the creation of the Postcard Eurocard credit card. Later it was marketed as Postcard VISA Card in cooperation with Cornèr Bank. Today these services are called PostFinance MasterCard and PostFinance VISA Card.

1992

The first financial service

Swiss Post launched its first financial service in the form of fixed-term federal deposits, which were subsequently given the name "yellow fixed-term deposits". Nowadays we refer to medium-term notes.

,

1997

"Postsoleil", the first funds.

The launch of the three yellow funds was done in collaboration with the Swiss Bank Corporation (today: UBS). Today PostFinance boasts seven of its own funds: Funds 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, as well as Fonds Global and Suisse. Since 2002, PostFinance has also offered a selection of mutual funds of other providers.

1998

Introduction of Yellownet

Yellownet marked the start of the e-finance era. This service saw PostFinance rise to the position of undisputed leader in Swiss e-banking. By 2009, e-finance surpassed the number of 1 million users.

1998

The first life insurance

"Yellow life insurance" was available from Swiss Post for the first time in association with Winterthur (today: AXA).

1998

Postal reform

The 1998 postal reform was designed to ensure and improve the provision of good, inexpensive post office and payment transaction services for the population and economy throughout Switzerland. For Swiss Post the reform involved changes at both market and company level.

Under the reform PostFinance had a legal obligation to achieve returns consistent with the market and to guarantee the security of assets. The abolition of the limit on interest provided the basis for a market standard for paying interest on customer deposits in postal and deposit accounts.

1999

Launch of the Deposito account

With the Deposito account, PostFinance brought to market a safe and flexible investment account. In 2000, it was followed by the e-Deposito account. And in 2003, the Deposito account for business customers was introduced.

2000

The first consulting centre

The first PostFinance consulting centres are opened in Lausanne, Basel and Zurich.

2001

Yellowtrade

With yellowtrade, today called e-trading, PostFinance enters the world of Internet-based securities trading.

2003

PostFinance turns into a retail financial institution

In 2003, together with UBS AG, PostFinance brought to market Yellow Mortgages and the Yellow Pension Account 3a. This marked PostFinance's mutation into a fully-fledged retail financial institution. Since 2008, PostFinance has also been offering additional mortgages in conjuction with the Münchener Hypothekenbank eG.

2005

Payment transactions for UBS

2005 saw PostFinance taking over UBS's "paper-based" payment transactions. This meant that the volume of vouchers increased by 30% overnight. At the same time, 21 employees came over to PostFinance from UBS. Today, PostFinance also ensures the payment transactions of the Cantonal Banks of Glarus, Tessin and Fribourg as well as Bank CIC (Switzerland).

2006

New centre in Zofingen

PostFinance was the first Swiss financial institution to use two entirely independent locations for its electronic systems. At a new datacentre in Zofingen, some 230 jobs were created to process some of PostFinance's vouchers. Most of the employees come from Berne and Lucerne. The relocation ensured a significant increase in the safety of our IT infrastructure.

2008

New free-movement account

With its vested benefits account, the Rendita Freizügigkeitsstiftung (vested benefits foundation) guarantees that your occupational pension provision is maintained in accordance with the Federal law on occupational pension provision (BVG) and the Federal law on vesting in pension plans (FzG).

2009

Cooperation with Valiant

2009 saw PostFinance and Valiant enter into a credit business agreement. The new offer benefited small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) throughout Switzerland.

2010

Free iPhone app

PostFinance was the first financial institution to offer a free application with a payment function for iPhones. It allows users to find the closest Post ATMs, PostFinance subsidiaries and post offices as well as the display of real-time stock exchange information. In 2011, the Android version followed and the well-known services grew to include by the most important e-finance services. With the function Scan+Pay, deposit forms can be scanned and payments made.

2011

FINMA supervision

2011 saw Swiss Post - and along with it PostFinance - receive Directly Supervised Financial Intermediary status (DSFI). As such PostFinance is subject to full supervision by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) in terms of the Anti-Money Laundering Act's provisions even before PostFinance's transformation into a public limited company.

2013

New headquarters in Berne

The 13-storey Mingerstrasse complex offers workspaces for 850 employees. At 55 metres high and with gross floor space of 15,000 m2, it is one of Berne’s tallest buildings.

2013

PostFinance Ltd

Since June 2013, PostFinance has been a public limited company under special law and a subsidiary of Swiss Post Ltd. PostFinance Ltd is regulated by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) and has been granted a licence in accordance with the Banking Act. The PostFinance Ltd Board of Directors is the highest committee of PostFinance Ltd.

2014

New e-finance

E-finance has a completely new design. Information is arranged in clear tiles, making navigation easier. Users can adapt e-finance to their needs quickly and easily.

2014

Strategic partnership with Swissquote

Swissquote and PostFinance are establishing a long-term strategic partnership in online trading. Swissquote will operate as a trading platform for PostFinance from autumn 2015, handling stock exchange orders placed by PostFinance customers in e-trading. According to the partnership agreement, PostFinance will also acquire a 5% equity investment in the capital of Swissquote.

1900

1906

1920

1950

1971

1976

1978

1988

1991

1992

1992

1997

1998

1998

1998

1999

2000

2001

2003

2005

2006

2008

2009

2010

2011

2013

2013

2014

2014

Geschichte

PostFinance blickt auf eine über 100-jährige Geschichte zurück. In dieser Zeit entwickelte sich der Postcheck- und Girodienst der Schweizerischen Post zum vollwertigen Retailfinanzinstitut.

1900

Der erste «Postcheck-und Girodienst»

Die Privat- und Kantonalbanken sind nicht mehr in der Lage, die Schweizer Wirtschaft ausreichend mit Bargeld zu versorgen. Aus diesem Grund reicht der Basler Nationalrat und Oberst Carl Koechlin zusammen mit fünf Mitunterzeichnenden eine Motion ein. Er legt damit den Grundstein für die Einführung eines «Postcheck- und Girodienstes».

1906

Der Zahlungsverkehr setzt ein

Für die Abwicklung des Zahlungsverkehrs drängt sich das dichte Poststellennetz geradezu auf. Es umfasst bereits zu diesem Zeitpunkt schweizweit über 3'000 Zugangspunkte. Carl Koechlin eröffnet beim Postcheckamt Basel das erste Postcheckkonto.

1920

Erstes internationales Postüberweisungsabkommen

Das Abkommen kommt im Rahmen des Weltpostkongresses in Madrid  zustande. Gleichzeitig schliesst die Schweizerische Post mit den wichtigsten europäischen Ländern Postanweisungsverträge ab.

1950

Das Ende der Verzinsung des Postcheckguthabens

Im Zuge der Wirtschaftskrise in den Dreissigerjahren des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde der Zinssatz immer mehr gesenkt. Ende 1949 war er bei 0,2 % angelangt und somit für viele Kontoinhaber bedeutungslos geworden. Da die Berechnung jedoch einen beträchtlichen Arbeitsaufwand verursachte, wurde die Verzinsung des Postcheckguthabens eingestellt.

1971

Der erste Einzahlungsschein

Das Verfahren Einzahlungsschein mit Referenznummer (VESR) war eine Pionierleistung. Es hat den beleggebundenen Zahlungsverkehr in der Schweiz bis heute entscheidend geprägt und die Marktstellung von PostFinance gefestigt. Seit 1996 heisst die Dienstleistung ESR.

1976

Auszahlungsschein mit Referenznummer

Das Verfahren Auszahlungsschein mit Referenznummer (VASR) wird eingeführt. Damit wird es erstmals möglich, Bargeld an Personen auszuzahlen, deren Kontonummer nicht bekannt ist.

1978

Einführung der Postomaten

Die ersten Postomaten nehmen den Betrieb auf - noch bevor die ersten Bancomaten zum Einsatz kommen. Für den Bargeldbezug wird die Postomatkarte lanciert.

1988

Elektronisches Zahlen wird möglich

Telegiro PTT wird lanciert. Der Vorläufer von yellownet ermöglicht das elektronische Zahlen via Videotex.

1991

Startschuss für die Postcard

Die Postcard geht aus der POSTOMAT PLUS-Karte und dem blauen, garantierten Postcheque hervor. Dieser ermöglichte ab 1984 den Bargeldbezug bei Poststellen in Europa und Japan. Die POSTOMAT PLUS-Karte kam erstmals 1988 im Shoppyland Schönbühl BE zum Einsatz. Dank  Magnetstreifen und Chip vereinfachte sie das bargeldlose Bezahlen stark.

1992

Lancierung der Postcard Eurocard

Die Kreditkarte Postcard Eurocard wird eingeführt. Später wird sie als Postcard VISA Card in Zusammenarbeit mit der Cornèr Bank vermarktet. Heute heissen die Dienstleistungen PostFinance MasterCard und PostFinance VISA Card.

1992

Die erste Finanzdienstleistung

Mit dem Bundesfestgeld bietet die Schweizerische Post erstmals eine Finanzdienstleistung an. Später trug diese Dienstleistung den Namen «Gelbes Festgeld», heute spricht man von Kassenobligationen.

,

1997

«Postsoleil»: Die ersten Fonds

Die Lancierung der drei gelben Fonds erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Bankverein (Heute: UBS). Heute hat PostFinance sieben eigene Fonds: Die Fonds 1-5, sowie die beiden Fonds Global und Suisse. Seit 2002 bietet PostFinance auch eine Auswahl an Anlagefonds von Drittanbietern an.

1998

Yellownet wird eingeführt

Mit yellownet beginnt das E-Finance-Zeitalter. Die Dienstleistung macht PostFinance zur unangefochtenen Nummer 1 im «E-Banking». 2009 hat E-Finance die Marke von einer Million angemeldeter Nutzer überschritten.

1998

Die erste Lebensversicherung

Die Post bietet in Zusammenarbeit mit der Winterthur-Versicherung (heute: AXA) erstmals die «Gelben Lebensversicherungen» an.

1998

Postreform

Mit der Postreform von 1998 sollte die landesweite Versorgung von Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft mit guten und preiswerten Post- und Zahlungsverkehrsdienstleistungen sichergestellt und verbessert werden. Die Reform umfasste für die Post sowohl eine Marktreform, wie auch eine Unternehmensreform.

PostFinance wurde mit dieser Reform per Gesetz dazu angehalten, bei der Anlage der Kundengelder einen marktkonformen Ertrag zu erzielen sowie die Sicherheit der Anlagen zu gewährleisten. Die Aufhebung der Verzinsungslimite war Grundlage für eine marktübliche Verzinsung der Kundengelder beim Post- wie beim Depositkonto geschaffen.

1999

Das Depositokonto wird lanciert

Mit dem Depositokonto bringt PostFinance ein sicheres und flexibles Anlagekonto auf den Markt. Im Jahr 2000 folgt das E-Depositokonto. 2003 wird das Depositokonto für Geschäftskunden eingeführt.

2000

Die ersten Beratungscenter

Die ersten PostFinance Beratungscenter in Lausanne, Basel und Zürich werden eröffnet.

2001

Yellowtrade

Mit yellowtrade, dem heutigen E-Trading, steigt PostFinance in den Internet-Wertschriftenhandel ein.

2003

PostFinance wird zum Retail-Finanzinstitut

PostFinance bringt zusammen mit der UBS AG die Gelben Hypotheken und das Gelbe Vorsorgekonto 3a auf den Markt. Damit wird PostFinance zum vollwertigen Retail-Finanzinstitut. Seit Sommer 2008 bietet PostFinance in Zusammenarbeit mit der Münchener Hypothekenbank eG zusätzliche Hypotheken an.

2005

Zahlungsverkehr für die UBS

PostFinance übernimmt für die UBS AG die Abwicklung des beleggebundenen Zahlungsverkehrs. Die Belegmenge erhöht sich auf einen Schlag um 30 Prozent. Gleichzeitig wechseln 21 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von der UBS zu PostFinance. Heute verarbeitet PostFinance auch den Zahlungsverkehr für die Kantonalbanken der Kantone Glarus, Tessin und Freiburg sowie die Bank CIC (Schweiz).

2006

Neuer Standort Zofingen

PostFinance war das erste Schweizer Finanzinstitut mit zwei Standorten für voneinander unabhängige IT-Rechenzentren. Am neu geschaffenen Sitz in Zofingen werden 230 Arbeitsplätze für ein Rechenzentrum und einen Teil der Belegverarbeitung eingerichtet. Die Mehrheit der Belegschaft stammt von den Standorten Bern und Luzern. Der Umzug erhöht die Sicherheit der Informatikinfrastruktur entscheidend.

2008

Neues Freizügigkeitskonto

Die Rendita Freizügigkeitsstiftung garantiert mit dem Freizügigkeitskonto die Erhaltung der beruflichen Vorsorge im Sinne des Beruflichen Vorsorgegesetztes (BVG) und des Freizügigkeitsgesetzes (FzG).

2009

Kooperation mit Valiant

PostFinance und Valiant gehen eine Kooperation im Kreditgeschäft ein. Vom neuen Angebot profitieren kleinere und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) in der ganzen Schweiz.

2010

Kostenlose iPhone-App

Als erstes Finanzinstitut bietet PostFinance eine kostenlose App mit Zahlungsfunktion für das iPhone an. Sie ermöglicht das Finden der nächstgelegenen Postomaten, PostFinance-Filialen und Poststellen und erlaubt das Abrufen aktueller Börseninformationen.

2011

Beaufsichtigung durch die FINMA

Die Post - und mit ihr PostFinance - erhält den Status einer direkt unterstellten Finanzintermediärin (DUFI). PostFinance wird somit bei der Einhaltung des Geldwäschereigesetzes bereits vor der Überführung in eine Aktiengesellschaft und der kompletten Unterstellung unter die Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) branchenüblich beaufsichtigt.

2013

Neuer Hauptsitz in Bern

Das 13-stöckige Gebäude an der Mingerstrasse bietet Platz für 850 Arbeitsplätze und ist mit einer Höhe von 55 Metern und einer Bruttogeschoss- fläche von 15‘000m2 eines der grössten Bauwerke der Stadt Bern.

2013

PostFinance AG

Seit Juni 2013 ist PostFinance eine privatrechtliche Aktiengesellschaft und eine Konzerngesellschaft der Schweizerischen Post AG. Die PostFinance AG ist der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) unterstellt und verfügt über eine Bewilligung nach Bankengesetz. Der Verwaltungsrat PostFinance AG ist das oberste Gremium der PostFinance AG.

2014

Neues E-Finance

E-Finance präsentiert sich im umfassend überarbeiteten Design. Die Anordnung in übersichtlichen Kacheln erleichtert die Orientierung. Nutzerinnen und Nutzer können E-Finance einfach und schnell ihren Bedürfnissen anpassen.

2014

Strategische Partnerschaft mit Swissquote

Swissquote und PostFinance gehen eine langfristige, strategische Partnerschaft im Onlinetrading ein. Swissquote wird für PostFinance ab Herbst 2015 als Tradingplattform tätig sein. In dieser Funktion wird sie die Börsenaufträge abwickeln, die die Kunden von PostFinance im E-Trading aufgeben. Die Kooperation sieht weiter vor, dass sich PostFinance mit 5% am Aktienkapital von Swissquote beteiligt.

1900

1906

1920

1950

1971

1976

1978

1988

1991

1992

1992

1997

1998

1998

1998

1999

2000

2001

2003

2005

2006

2008

2009

2010

2011

2013

2013

2014

2014